Results 2010

Andy Sutz (SUI) and Ulrike Schwalbe (GER) win the Powerman Germany 2010

The winners of the Powerman Germany 2010 Ulrike Schwalbe and Andy Sutz

What a Race!

The starter list promised an exciting race on the tough and difficult Powerman course with its steep ups and downs. And the weather promised surprises. Despite the mix of rain showers, strong gusting wind and sunshine, the spectators enthusiastically cheered for the athletes. The helper team gave its best during the many hours and the well prepared organisation granted a secure procedure.
Up to rank 10, the strong-cast men’s field was on average 3 minutes faster than the previous year – despite the rain and wind. A great achievement of all the athletes.
(NB) Over the weekend overall 340 sportsmen came to Falkenstein. 303 duathletes competed against each other and the unsettled weather in Falkenstein (Vogtland/Saxony) to become German Champion of long distance duathlon and to win the Powerman Germany 2010. Furthermore, there were relays and a national fire- and policemen competition.

PowerKids Duathlon

On the warm and sunny Saturday, there were 37 PowerKids under way, 12 of them from one school alone. After the race the kids were exhausted but happy, because everyone got a nice Powerman finisher-shirt.

Powerman Germany

Like forecast, the weather was much different on Sunday. Even before the Powerman Light at 9:30 a.m. and the German Championship / Powerman it started to rain. Fortunately, there were dry periods when most of the long distance athletes (German Championship and Powerman) were on their bikes, but it restarted to rain again and again. And a strong and cold wind made the Falkenstein duathlon currently one of the toughest in Germany. Matt und AndyRight from the start the Swiss Andy Sutz and the British Matt Moorhouse had been in the lead, among the women it boiled down to a fight of four between the favourite and local hero Uli Schwalbe (Plauen), Susanne Svendsen from Denmark, Jaqueline Uebelhart and Katrin Esefeld from Munich. In the end Uli Schwalbe (GER) commandingly won with 2 minutes before Jaqueline Uebelhart (SUI), Susanne Svendson (DEN) and Katrin Esefeld (GER). Among the men the Swiss Andy Sutz won out over Matt Moorhouse, unexpected third became Boris Stein (GER) followed by Karl Prungraber from Austria. Andy Sutz was considered to win before the start, as he had won the 2008 Powerman Zofingen (Powerman World Championship), was second place of the 2009 World Championship at the Swiss Powerman and ETU European Champion (short distance) in Budapest.


German Championship Long Distance Duathlon

Ulrike Schwalbe and Boris Stein are the new German Champions of the long distance duathlon (16 km – 64 km – 8 km).

Boris Stein won in 3:12,50 hrs followed by Sebastian Retzlaff (3:18,43 hrs) and Michael Wetzel (3:20,20 hrs). In the women’s race Ulrike Schwalbe won through in 3:48,57 hrs against Katrin Esefeld (3:56,59 hrs) from Munich and Christine Rausch (4:02,49 hrs).
Report Norbert Braun (DTU)

Results Powerman Germany Duathlon 2010
Results International German Championship 2010

All the winners Powerman Germany 2010

1. Andy Sutz (SUI) 3:11:47
2. Matt Moorhouse (GBR) 3:11:55
3. Boris Stein (GER) 3:12:50
4. Karl Prungraber) 3:17.16
5. Sebastian Retzlaff (GER) 3:18:43
6. Michael Wetzel (GER) 3:20:20
7. Esben Kaczmaek (DEN) 3:20:57
8. David Vaughan (IRL) 3:21:08
9. Sebastian Kuefner (GER) 3:25:40
10. Dirk Strothmann (GER) 3:23:37
1. Ulrike Schwalbe (GER) 3:48:57
2. Jaqueline Ueberhart (SUI) 3:50:57
3. Susanne Svendson (DEN) 3:51:51
4. Katrin Esefeld (GER) 3:56:59
5. Christine Rausch (GER) 4:02:49
6. Marion Hofmann (GER) 4:03:54
7. Claudia Hille (GER) 4:11:23
8. Anabelle Konczer (AUT) 4:11:57
9. Elfi Rose (GER) 4:13:12
10. Antje Strothmann (GER) 4:15:44

Powerman News


Ranking Powerman World Series