Resultes Powerman Malaysia 2012

Powerman Malaysia 2012 – Woestenborghs wins again as Vodickova takes ladies title

Putrajaya, Sunday’s (4th Nov 2012)
Powerman Asia took place in the beuatiful new governmental capital town of Malaysia, Putrajaya, the start and finish in front of the Mayor’s house. It was going to be a tough day weather wise – warm in the morning, 24°c, climbing to 32°c through the day and combined with high humidity. That said, come 2pm and by award ceremony time it was raining – it is also the monsoon season!
A huge field of almost 2000 people started their Powerman Asian Championships (and Sprint Duathlon) at 7a.m. local time.
The Powerman run was two laps of 5.7km each through the city centre, passing through all of the key ministeries of the Malaysian Government. The bike leg was then two laps of 32km on wide open roads and highways around Putrajaya before repeating the two lap (11.4km) run to finish. It is an incredibly scenic course, and one highliy recommended to all Powerman fans.
Switzerland’s Andy Sutz was hoping to show that he was fit and recovered following a long time out of racing following an accident on the bike during training. Sutz lead the first run in (37:36) followed within a minute by Anthony Le Duey (FRA), Takashi Nakata (JPN), Rob Woostenborghs (BEL), Maxim Kuzmin (RUS) and John Chicano (PHP).
Once on to the bike Woostenborghs – recently second in the Powerman World Championships in Zofingen and Powerman Italy winner – was riding very weel, feeling strong and took the lead from Sutz. Sutz was doing his best to stay with the speedy Belgian, knowing his usually stronger second run would be an asset. Maxim Kuzmin was also riding well and able to bridge the gap to Woostenborghs and Sutz. Woostenborghs was able to build a lead on the bike though that Sutz would not be able to recover and it was another Powerman victory for Belgium.
In the women’s race Radka Vodickova (CZE) was first into T1, closely followed by the surprise of the day, Mirasol Cabelenio Abad (PHP) and Jacqueline Uebelhart (SUI), that trio remaining in close contention throughout the bike leg too.
On the second run Vodickova showed that she was able to perform in such tough conditions to pull away and win the 2012 Power Asian Championship event.

rang man:
1st Rob Woestenborghs (BEL) 2:52:29
2nd Andy Sutz (SUI) 2:53:29
3rd Maxim Kuzmin (RUS) 2:57:06
4th Anthony Le Duey (FRA) 3:00:12
5th Esben Kaczmarek (DEN) 3:04:00
6th John Chicano (PHP) 3:04:34
7th Robinson Estevez (PHP) 3:09:48
8th Takashi Nakata (JAP) 3:17:00
9th Jeffeson Valdez (PHP) 3:22:00
10th Gaeton Fetaud (FRA) 3:36:51

rang women:
1st Radka Vodickova (CZE) 3:19:23
2nd Mirasol Cabelenio Abad (PHI) 3:23:37
3rd Jacqueline Uebelhart (SUI) 3:30:36
4th Kristina Lapinova (SLV) 3:31:35
5th Jessica Jerz (AUT) 3:36:42
6th Claire Walton (GBR) 3:42:20
7th Mariana Mohammad (MAS) 3:53:22
8th Angie Tan Si Qi (SGP) 3:54:19
9th Susan Marie Gallagher (CAN) 4:00:35
10th Azlinawati Husain (MAS) 4:03:44

Malakoff Powerman Malaysia